fluffymarshmallow

Wine Label Bottle Cap Designs

Posted on: April 24, 2011


I decided to create the bottle caps for my wine bottles, here’s the finished designs:

I kept the designs quite simple and included the logo and name of the brand on the caps.

Development Process:

I first created the shape of the wine cap in 3DsMax. I used the line tool to create half the shape of the cap, moved the pivot point to the bottom corner of the drawing and then used the lathe modifier. This created a basic cylinder type shape. I added the FFD 4x4x4 modifier which allowed me to alter the shape of the top of the cap and create cat-like ears. I made a pink cap and a blue cap for the two wine brands I designed.  Finally, I rendered the object and saved the file as a JPEG to be used in Photoshop.

I imported the JPEG files into Photoshop and added Kawaii Ai’s and Aoi Ai’s logo mascot on the bottom section of the cap. I then included the brand names on the top half, both hand-written using a graphics tablet. I thought this worked quite well and it is eye-catching to passers-by as it is unique and different. To finish off the presentation of the wine caps, I left the background slightly pink to relate to the cuteness of the wine brand. The caps are labelled below each design using ‘kronika’ font from DaFont.

I’m quite happy with the end result ^^ I think they suit the nature of my brand of wine as they remain playful, cute and fun whilst being attractive to the viewer.

Leave a Reply

